“Halal is Arabic for the word ‘permissible’ or ‘allowed’ and halal food is that which complies to Islamic law, as defined in the Koran. Within the food industry, halal products are those that are permissible for the Muslim community to consume.
What is and isn’t Halal food?
There are several types of foods that are not halal. The most commonly known ones are pork and alcohol. Other animal products are considered to be halal if they have been slaughtered according to Islamic ritual rites. Islam places great emphasis on how an animal’s life ends and how it is to be treated at the time of slaughter. All life is considered sacred and must be treated humanely. Other than alcohol, foods that are not animal-based are halal.
How do I know which foods are halal?
Pork and alcohol are not halal. Beverages that have 0% alcohol are halal. For example, non-alcoholic beers are considered halal-friendly, but this can depend on individual choice.
Other animal products are halal if the ‘halal’ certification is written on the label. In many countries, manufacturers are obligated to declare whether their animal products are halal-friendly.
How can I ensure I eat halal-friendly food when I eat out?
Halal outlets owned by Muslims (owners of these outlets assure the food is halal) and vegetarian restaurants (outlets that are not halal certified or owned by a Muslim person, but claim to be pure vegetarian) also have food that is halal-friendly.
If you are ever in doubt, ask the food outlet as they should have that information.
Halal-friendly food shopping made easy
Use myWellaBee to search ANY combination of allergies, intolerances, special diets, and so much more! Our experts have cross-checked allergen/dietary claims on all food products, so you and your family can make educated decisions and buy with confidence.
Visit www.myWellabee.com to learn more!